My Kach and Sweet Valentine

A few weeks back, my officemate tweeted me about this movie, The Vow, that’s coming soon in theaters. To be honest, I have not heard about this movie, but judging by its title, I knew this is something interesting.

As soon as I read this, I immediately searched for its official trailer on YouTube. To my surprise, it’s another Channing Tatum movie! To top it off, it’s a Channing Tatum-Rachel McAdams flick! Isn’t that sweet? It’s like Dear John and The Notebook all over again!

I got all the more excited when I saw on TV that it’s coming out on Friday, February 10! Didn’t take me two seconds to BBM my girl friend, Sweet, and ask her to be my pre-Valentine date! I wanted to buy tickets as early as Monday, but the movie schedule on that day isn’t available on SureSeats.com yet. Come Friday, as soon as I got to work, I planned on buying movie tickets online. To my dismay, my orders have been disapproved. TWICE! It’s gotten really frustrating that I ended up placing reservation tickets. Halfway through the day, Sweet BBM’d me that she had finally convinced Kach to join us! I panicked because I only reserved two tickets! Since it’s been four hours since my last reservation, I was sure that I might have to check seats elsewhere. Guess who got lucky? When I got to the page where I’d tick on the seat, there’s one more available next to the first two I had reserved!

As soon as I got off work at 1700H, I sped off to Alabang. On my there, I got caught up in a really bad traffic along Concha Cruz inside BF Parañaque. I was literally crawling towards Alabang-Zapote Road for God-knows-how-long. Convinced that I will not get to Alabang Town Center before the two girls, I requested Sweet to settle the reservation fee on my behalf. Around 1900H, I finally made it to ATC! Because of the earlier reports on the shootout in the area, I decided to park in McDonald’s instead.

Movie starts at 2015H, so we decided to have dinner at Shakey’s (Sweet’s all-time favorite restaurant). We got so engrossed in talking over dinner that we didn’t realize we were way past the screening time! We rushed to the cinemas, and by the time we got there, we’re late by 15 minutes. This isn’t a movie review, so I won’t discuss the technicality of the movie in this entry (I don’t even know how to write one, anyway). I just thought, the moment I saw Channing Tatum on screen, that I terribly miss Miggy. :( I don’t know, but since Dear John, I’ve associated Channing Tatum with my fiancé. His physical features, his gestures, the way he talks—all are Miggy-like. That’s prolly the reason why I was teary-eyed the whole time! Since I was seated between Kach and Sweet, they would nudge me every now and then at kilig scenes. Hahaha!

Towards the end of the movie, we agreed to wait ’til the next screening to watch the part we missed. We didn’t get up from our seats ’til the security guard told us that it’s only a one-time viewing. We got up, but insisted to stay even if we had to stand at the back to catch the first part of the movie. Staying a bit longer was all worth it! We found ourselves nodding, blurting ahh’s and ohh’s indicating more in-depth discernment of the story. Overall rating: GREAT! I’d definitely get a copy when it comes out in record stores.

On our way home, we made a quick trip at Pan de Manila to grab some bread. Just when we were about to walk towards the parking lot, Kach suddenly remembered that we had no group picture! Desperate that we were, we asked the cashier lady to take these pictures for us inside their store!

It was one helluva Friday night! We missed each other so much, the time we had wasn’t enough. Though my true-to-life Valentine won’t be here to spend it with me, these girls sure made up for it. Thank you so much! I love you both!

P.S. We were also BBM’ing our other two girl friends, Anj and Riv, wishing they were with us. It would’ve been more crazy and fun! I can’t wait for our next get-together!

HIT ME WITH YOUR BEST SHOT

