Three's a Crowd

As you well know, Nica and I have been taking brunchbreaks almost every day for a couple of months now. Nica is four years younger than I am, the same age as my brother. She graduated with a degree of International Relations from Lyceum of the Philippines University. She may seem all too bubbly, but don’t underestimate this kid because she was a consistent honor student since grade school. What I like most about her is that she has a life beyond her books. I seldom meet people with above average IQ who actually have friends, if you know what I mean. Everyday she would recount how her dinner with Korean friends went the other day or how she’s too engrossed with the current eBook she’s reading. She may be young, but I know I can rely on this kid in many ways—not to the extent of abusing her genuine kindness, though. ;)

Last year, towards the end of fourth quarter, we were informed by our team leader that there’s another addition to our SSH Family. Her name is Micah [or Maix]. She used to be a production editor of Springer publication. Sometime in December, she started her Wiley training with Sir Ron, our team leader. My first impression of her: Boy, this chick got style! She comes to work sophisticatedly dressed up without even going overboard or looking trying hard. She’s a fashionista in her own right. On top of that, she’s got this I-don’t-give-a-damn kind of personality that even made her more intimidating!

One morning, Maix arrived before Nica and I did. Since we usually take our breaks before noon, we invited her for brunch to which she gladly accepted. In my mind, I thought it would be a little awkward; after all, we don’t really know much about each other. Much to my surprise, all three of us hit it up the first time! It’s as if we’ve known each other for years! Guess what? She’s a fellow Thomasian, too! She has a degree in AB Communication Arts, thus she’s naturally articulate.

From then on, all three of us would wait for each other just so we’d have brunch together (except on Mondays, I think?). And as mentioned in my other post, friends from other business unit would join us, making our morning even more pleasant. We even referred to ourselves as the Friday Brunch Club. Hahaha! We would talk about anything under the sun—mostly stuff that will eventually lead us to laughing our lungs out.

Last night was not like any other Thursdays I have had in months. Maix, Nica, and I had a little dinner date at a nearby mall. We had enough time to spare, so we decided to stroll around. We went from the department store to a thrift bookstore. After taking some time inside browsing through interesting books and magazines, we finally agreed to have dinner.

It took us a while to make up our minds on what to order,

Undecided.

so we ended up with these two:

Classic Savory | Chicken Combo #2

Classic Savory | Kangkong with Crispy Pork Belly

In between bites, we took turn in talking more about our lives, mostly non-work-related. Every now and then, we would burst into laughter about something—almost bringing me to tears!

Maix and Nica

Nica and Jae

Three's a Crowd

It wasn’t fancy, but hey, we sure had fun! Shall we do this again? OF COURSE! :)

4 thoughts on “Three's a Crowd

  1. aww! so well-put…touching! Of course we should do it again! I really had fun with you guys. We look so radiant with happiness there in the photos, even my nipple-style top will agree! LMAO

    Like

  2. Awww! Teary-eyed right now! Thank you! :) You girls are wonderful! Really a big thank you for welcoming me! :) Mwah! Yes we shall do it again soon!

    Like

HIT ME WITH YOUR BEST SHOT

