The Hunger Games Craving: Satisfied

I have just finished reading the second book from The Hunger Games Trilogy, Catching Fire, and all the more I was determined to see The Hunger Games on the big screen. Did I mention I literally spent most of my time burying myself, flipping through pages of these books? I cannot even remember the last time I finished two novels in four days.

Right after hearing Sunday mass, we went straight to Alabang Town Center. My Dad had to go to Globe Business Center to inquire something about his mobile business plan. There’s a nearby church at the mall, and mass was still on-going when we arrived, thus the parking lot was packed as usual. While they find for a spot to park on, I decided to alight the car to check on the movie schedule. I must admit—all this time, that was really my intention. My youngest brother tagged along, and while we were on queue in buying the movie tickets, I realized that I did not have enough cash. Panic got to me, knowing that most of the people behind me were also going to watch The Hunger Games. I only breathed a sigh of relief when my brother offered to lend me a few bucks to acquire the tickets! Fifteen minutes later, I got five tickets to the last movie feature at 2145H.

As soon as Dad settled his agenda at Globe Business Center, we headed down to the new wing to figure out where to have dinner. It was almost 1900H, thus most restaurants were full. Mom did not want to wait longer as she was already feeling famished, so we decided to go further to the Madrigal Ave. side of the mall. To my surprise there were a whole stretch of new restaurants to check out! We ended up at Xôi Vietnamese Kitchen. Aside from Phó’ Hōa, this was the second Vietnamese restaurant we have dined in.

Well, in my opinion, it’s not as good as Phó’ Hōa, but it’s okay. I ordered something that’s similar to Phó’ Hōa’s vermicelli bowl, but it didn’t quite meet my expectations. Aww.

To make up for a not-so-happy dish at dinner, I craved for some Serenitea fix! I ordered Wintermelon Milk Tea with pearls at 50% sugar level, while my brothers requested for Choco Milk Tea and Okinawa Milk Tea with pearls at 100% sugar level, respectively. Lastly, I got Mom and Dad a large Hokkaido Milk Tea with pearls at 50% sugar level, which they shared together. I can’t say I jumped into this whole milk tea craze, but I find it more healthy than frappe topped with whipped cream.

With more than hour to spare, my brothers and I decided to check on new stuff on Olympic World, just across Serenitea. Feeling tired from strolling around to kill time, I found myself seated facing a pool of inviting pairs of running/training shoes. Sadism and masochism at its finest. In fact, there were two pairs that particularly called my attention, and they were ON SALE!!! Well the discount wasn’t that much, but hey, it’s cheaper by 10%! To make it worse, I was told that the discount promo applies only for that day, and it will return to its original price the next day. VERY NICE. I told hubby-to-be about it, and he was prodding me to try them on, but I know that I don’t need a new pair. Well, not yet. I only got saved by the bell, when Dad ordered us to move since it’s almost screening time.

We were seated at the upper far left side of Cinema 5 (which is one of the smallest theater in ATC), and it looked okay until the lights were dimmed, and advertisements were shown. I thought it was only me, but Mom and Dad noticed that the view from where we were seated was not so appealing. The first few parts of the movie made it a little worse because we thought that the camera/video shots were shaky. Needless to say, I literally got goosebumps as soon as the film began. I was really focused on each and every frame, not wanting to miss the slightest bit of act there was.

Funny that somewhere in the middle of the movie, my Dad who was seated on my left and my brother on my right, would nudge me every now and then for the parts that they didn’t quite get. I didn’t get irritated at all, but I happily answered their questions in a way the neighboring viewers won’t get annoyed. Hahaha!

The movie adaptation was not as faithful to the novel, but it did meet my expectations for the most part. I think Jennifer Lawrence, who played Katniss Everdeen, did justice to the role. Josh Hutcherson, however, did a great job playing as Peeta Mellark if only for his lack of height. Liam Hemsworth as Gale Hawthorne? Hmm, need I say more? ;)

P.S.:

Look who’s gotten totally consumed by this series! Hahaha!

One thought on “The Hunger Games Craving: Satisfied

  1. Pingback: The Year That Was: My 2012 Year-Ender « SCATTERBRAIN

HIT ME WITH YOUR BEST SHOT

