Grey. Darker. Freed.

I won’t deny the fact that every woman deserves a decent man who will love them for who they are and who they’re not. There’s just this grueling fantasy for women in finding men who will sweep them off their feet. It’s like a fairy tale with a promise of living happily ever after. Well, not in the case of E.L. JamesFifty Shades series. This is so not a fairy tale for kids.

Fifty Shades by E.L. James

Yesterday, a friend asked me on Twitter if I’ve read/started reading this book. I’ve heard of it one too many times because it’s becoming very controversial; in fact, I heard over the radio the other day that the series are being pulled out from bookstores and libraries in some countries because of its obscenity. Curiosity got the better of me, so I asked my friend to send eBook files of the series via email. I did not dare browse through its pages until I got home that night.

The first few pages were very intriguing that I found myself hooked, and that’s how I am whenever I’m interested with what I’m reading. The first book was a mix of emotions of all sorts I must say. Blame it on Christian Grey’s, the almost-perfect-multimillionaire who got smitten with Anastasia Steele’s naïvety that caught him off-guard. Through my reading, I felt like I’m caught in a limbo of emotions. One minute I’m breathless, the next I’m sobbing like a little kid, then I catch myself laughing at the Grey’s and Steele’s email threads.

It is one hell of a literary piece of work. In fact, I think that’s the understatement of the year. As soon as I finished the third book from the series, Fifty Shades Freed, I found myself flipping through the pages of the first book again. That’s a first. I don’t re-read a book once I’m done with it, ever. I’m glad I did because in this case, love is sweeter the second time around. In one way or another, I feel like I am stitching the pieces together, understanding the arguments and rediscovering the reservations of the two main characters.

Funny that during the course of my reading, I put myself in Anastasia Steele’s character, and I assume Miggy in Christian Grey’s shoes. Well, Miggy may not yet be as filthy rich as Christian is in the series, but the latter’s personality reminded me so much of my would-be husband. Ridiculous as it may sound, Miggy is as possessive and protective as Christian; except only for the BDSM bit. Perhaps the reason I was so drawn to this series…

Oh, did I mention I even have a playlist of the Fifty Shades soundtrack? I actually feel more connected to the series more than ever. So attached that my friends and I have been exchanging opinions on potential actors and actresses to cast as Christian and Anastasia! Fiddling my fingers on the computer, I found this interesting take on the casting: Fifty Shades Casting | My Daily Pill. I will have to agree with her, SPOT ON!

While this series remains highly controversial, I very much look forward to its movie adaptation. I just hope they will remain true—if not close—to the bestselling novel.

P.S. Making quick mental note, I’m assuming that by the time the movie comes out of theaters, I’m already married. HA! *grinning like an idiot*

2 thoughts on “Grey. Darker. Freed.

  1. Pingback: Humor Me « SCATTERBRAIN

  2. Pingback: [1/30] Sing Me a Song « SCATTERBRAIN

HIT ME WITH YOUR BEST SHOT

