"What to read after Fifty Shades?"


Fifty Shades by E.L. James

Well, that was a question that had me burned up as I flip through the pages of the last book in the Fifty Shadestrilogy, and as if on cue, a friend of mine tweeted me a link to fill my concern. One lazy afternoon, I decided to look the suggested books up to download. I found a few books from the list, and load them up on my eBook reader in my phone and laptop, respectively. I had so much fun reading the Fifty Shades that I immediately started with the first book all over again until I finished all three books the second time around. Since there were quite a lot of books in the pipeline, I had a dilemma on what to read next. Most of the books I got belonged to a series, so I started off with the stand-alone ones.

Club Shadowlands by Cherise Sinclair

Being the shortest of all the eBooks I have in my reader, I settled in reading Club Shadowlands by Cherise Sinclair. I must say I didn’t like it from the very start since the author wrote in third person point of view. It’s quite a big adjustment for me since I still lingered in the first person point of view from the Fifty Shades series. I gave the benefit of the doubt and went on with the book. Somewhere in the middle, I wanted to abandon the book for the reason that I found that it stuck around the whole BDSM thing, boring me to death, but I finished it anyway. Perhaps I had just enjoyed Fifty Shades so much that whatever book I read afterwards I expect to live up to my expectations. So much for a benchmark, isn’t it?

The Marriage Bargain by Jennifer Probst

Removing that eBook from my bookshelf, I moved on to the next—The Marriage Bargain by Jennifer Probst. This piece was a lighter one with the love scene revealed not until half-way through the book. It has that smitten effect over the book, but not too much. It’s not as light as a teen novel, but it’s not as heavy as Club Shadowlands either. This book served as a breather, I must say.

Bared to You by Sylvia Day

The next book I had in line was Bared to You by Sylvia Day. According to the site where I got these recommended books, this one’s close to Fifty Shades. With that being said, I expected it to be as good as Fifty Shades; however, it lacked the prowess of E.L. James’ wit, that apart from the almost similar characters, Gideon Cross and Eva Tramell and Christian Grey and Anastasia Steele, it doesn’t even come close in my opinion. Both characters are as insatiable as Grey and Steele, but there’s something about Cross and Tramell that I find they are lacking, if only I’d put a finger on what it is. Apparently, this book is part of a series, so readers will be left hanging with the next book, Deeper into You, as continuation to Gideon and Eva’s love story. We’ll see if I ever convince myself to read the follow-up novel…

Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire

Yet again, upon coming to a close with the previous novel I read, I found the same dilemma on what to read next. To help me decide, I looked into Goodreads.com. Lo and behold, I found that Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire came fourth after the Fifty Shades trilogy! I don’t know what is it with me, but after three novels, I suddenly got all excited with my next read.  I’m on the seventh chapter as I write this, and I am seriously counting the hours until I get off work today to get back on my reading. In fact, even though I’m not half-way through with the book, I already told my colleague that chances are that I am going to re-read this book as soon as I finish it. For some weird reason, I caught myself smiling like a loon on my way to work, remembering most of the parts that made me laugh as I read. Perhaps I’ll write a separate post on this soon.

As a friend would always say, “So many books to read, so little leisure time…

HIT ME WITH YOUR BEST SHOT

