Coming Soon.

A few months ago, Dad talked me into giving Mom a surprise party for her 50th birthday. We intend to invite most of her closest friends from college and from work to celebrate it with since it’s her special day. Her birthday is in September, but as early as June/July, I already had a venue/date reserved.

Dad and I even had a draft plan on our play. Since Dad’s birthday falls 10 days after Mom’s, and we always go out for dinner as a family, he will make her believe that we’re just going to have a double celebration. Dad talked me into making the invitations while my brother makes the audio-visual presentation (AVP). Each one of us will also prepare our personal birthday messages for Mom as part of our surprise.

Since I’ve been into do-it-yourself (DIY) stuff lately, I thought of making her invitations a bit more personalized than just printing out like conventional invitation cards. One afternoon at work, I came across this post for surprise party invitations. These top-secret/confidential-file-folder-themed invitations are genius! I found it really appropriate since we’re keeping it a secret from Mom. To be honest, I got excited to immediately start with my project that I bought materials right after I got off from work!

So here are the materials I used:

  • 8.5″x11″ paper board (I got a color that’s closest to a typical file folder.)
  • 4″x6.38″ coin envelopes
  • large-sized metal paper clips
  • construction papers in gray and white
  • ruler
  • scissors
  • paper cutter
  • glue stick
I just followed the instructions in the website, but did some differently like the TOP SECRET/CONFIDENTIAL  label on the sticky note outside the folder, and the CONFIDENTIAL watermark I did in Photoshop.
What do you think? I can’t wait to give these out to invited guests! I hope they’ll love them!

One thought on “Coming Soon.

  1. Pingback: MISSION—Surprise! Surprise!—ACCOMPLISHED « Scatterbrain

HIT ME WITH YOUR BEST SHOT

