Gracias. Merci. Salamat.

30-DAY BLOGGING CHALLENGE
DAY 8: A THANK YOU LETTER TO SOMEONE WHO HAS CHANGED YOUR LIFE

I am a work in progress. Every day, I strive to become a better person; however, I cannot do it all by myself. Each person I encounter in every way becomes a piece of a puzzle that is me. There are a few people I’d like to thank; those who have made an impact in my life in one way or another. Please allow me to begin this by thanking…

  • …the people who didn’t respect me and my decisions.

Yes, I am grateful for them because I came to the realization that I needed to let go of them. It is a sad truth that the more you spend time with the people around you, the more you get to know them. Familiarity does breed contempt.

I’d say I’m lucky to have my college friends around—in good times and in bad. They accept me both for who I am, and who I am not; and I, them. I oftentimes say “no” to them, but they never took it against me. They respected me and my decisions, so today, more than ever, I try to be there in every way for them because they deserve it.

  • …the young ones who inspire me to do what I do best.

It amazes me how most of the kids from this generation contribute to the betterment of their nation. They make their talents instruments to speak their minds. It made me think about that one significant thing I did when I was about their age. Was I able to contribute something to my community? I’d like to think I did.

These kids made me realize that you are never too young nor too old to follow—no, chase after your dreams. If it makes you happy, do it. No one should ever take that away from you. Nothing compares to that feeling of pride when you have accomplished something for yourself. It gives you the sense of contentment.

  • …my parents for taking us in a path where we’ve never been before.

My father decided to quit his job in October 2010. That was already two years ago, but everything remains fresh in my mind. He revealed this to us on my brother’s 20th birthday celebration. My mother knew, but she wanted my father to tell us himself. We were fine that day until he gathered us in the couch for a talk. My brothers were still in college, and I was the only one working. My father didn’t have a fallback company when he resigned. I have only been working for ten months then, and the idea of taking my father’s role is beyond imaginable.

It came to a point when my parents had to put their investments up for sale because we were running out of resources. Every single day was a challenge for them to find a way in order to put food on the table. I was gainfully employed, but what I earn wasn’t enough to feed five heads. The least I could do for them at that time was to get each one of them a health insurance.

I sure learned a lot of things from this humbling experience. It is true that when you’re at your lowest point in life, you will discover who your real friends are. We call them our angels for the reason that they saved us from insanity; the madness of not knowing how we will survive for the next two to three days when we have nothing.

Would you believe that my family became closer during this trying time? We didn’t find it in our hearts to blame my father for leaving his job when we least expected it. Instead, we thought that it was the best thing he did because if he didn’t, he will end up in either of these two places: in jail or in a hospital bed. We learned to appreciate each other more and value one another’s sacrifices because that’s all we have left.

The most significant thing this situation taught me is the gift of faith. When you have nothing, you become humble, and you lean to seek refuge in the presence of God. We surrendered everything to the Lord, and trusted Him with all we have left. We believed that He allowed these things to happen so that we may learn to value the intangible things we possess and those were family and friends.

By God’s grace, after a year of unemployment, in November 2011, my father was offered a new job. It isn’t as good as the one he had before, but it’s so much better than nothing at all. It’s been almost a year since and slowly, we are recovering from our adversity. Thank God.

I am a work in progress. Every day, I strive to become a better person; however, I cannot do it all by myself. If there’s one more thing this life has taught me, it would be the ability to make something good out of the bad.

2 thoughts on “Gracias. Merci. Salamat.

  1. Pingback: [14/30] Pure Shores « SCATTERBRAIN

  2. Pingback: Yet Another Blogging Challenge « SCATTERBRAIN

HIT ME WITH YOUR BEST SHOT

