Hats Off!

30-DAY BLOGGING CHALLENGE
DAY 18: A TIME WHEN YOU FELT PASSIONATE AND ALIVE

The plane has arrived and it’s time for me to go. It is time. This is my trip. Long have I waited and now, I’m not sure how I’m feeling about this. It’s too good to be true. I finally am heading to some place I haven’t been to. I am as excited and anxious as all the other passengers of this plane. We’re going to a place only-God-knows where…

It’s that sentimental yearning for happiness of a former place and time—a nostalgia for my college days. Looking back, I am just blown away. The university has opened up a lot of doors for me and I owe all of them to my Alma Mater. It taught me a lot about patience and survival. Who I am and what I am now is all because of the people I met along the way. I sure have learned to be strong for it takes character to face all the troubles that came my way.

To all my real friends, I may never have made it this far if not because of your encouragement and support that sustained me all throughout these years especially during those times when you hardly see me nor feel my presence in school (you well know what I mean).

To my brothers (and younger cousins), I hope I have set a good example to you in striving and doing well in school because more than anything else, education is still the best treasure one can have and finishing school is the best gift we could give our parents.

To my parents, THANK YOU for your unconditional love and for all other things I should be thankful for. I just can’t thank you enough. I hope I made you proud.

To Lola Letty, Nanay Swinda and Tatay Inong, I offer you this momentous chapter of my life. Wherever you are, I hope I have made you proud, as well.

To God, my refuge and my pillar of strength, THANK YOU! Oftentimes, I have not done my best and I know each time I fail in the things I do, I also failed You. Despite all these, You never left me and know You are and will always be right beside me. I shall keep the faith.

To my batchmates, I will miss all of you. I know I may not have been the best in class, but I hope, in one way or another, I have made a difference in your lives. I may not have brought into social contact with all of you, especially those from 5B, but I wished I got the chance to know each and every one of you. I have come to love this batch because this is where I belong now.

To all those who should have been with us on this trip, don’t you worry. Just do your thing and soon enough, you’ll be on board too. Anyway, when we’re all out there, it’s going to be just the same.

—JRJM © 2009

I wrote this a few weeks before my college graduation day. I had a tough time during my senior year in college. Tough is even an understatement. I almost did not make it to graduation due to unforeseen adversities I had encountered in school. Just imagine how stressful this can get not only for myself, but for my parents as well. We only breathed a sigh of relief when a few weeks before our Baccalaureate Mass, my name was included in the investiture program provided by our department.

All graduating students across the university is expected to participate in the Baccalaureate Mass organized by UST. This is usually held in our football field, right in front of what we call The Grandstand. The Baccalaureate Mass is usually a concelebrated mass officiated by the Dominican priests of the university. It serves as a Thanksgiving Mass from all graduating students of the current academic year.

I’d say that apart from my actual graduation day, this was most significant in my six years in UST. This was a time when I felt passionate and alive. Every bit of this event was just overwhelming, especially towards the end of the program. I think I started getting more emotional when we were asked to face the Main Building while we sing the UST Hymn. Things got even more breathtaking when the sky was filled with colorful fireworks to conclude the celebration. After which, all students march down the Arch of the Century, a gesture opposite the Freshman Welcome Walk held for first year college students, indicating the students final exit from the university.

5 thoughts on “Hats Off!

  1. Pingback: Yet Another Blogging Challenge « SCATTERBRAIN

HIT ME WITH YOUR BEST SHOT

