Shed a Single Tear

30-DAY BLOGGING CHALLENGE
DAY 24: A MOVIE NO ONE WOULD EXPECT YOU TO LOVE

It didn’t take me two seconds to figure out what I’m going to write about today. This post may also be considered a revelation of some sort because I will be sharing with you something I’ve never told anyone. Not that it’s big deal, but just thinking about it makes me giggle. Well, who wouldn’t with Johnny Depp in mind?

I think I was in sixth grade when I first saw the movie, Cry-Baby, starring Johnny Depp, Ricki Lake, and Amy Locane. This movie is a parody of Grease, a musical film, starred by John Travolta and Olivia Newton-John. Johnny Depp plays Wade “Cry-Baby” Walker, while Amy Locane takes the role of Allison Vernon-WilliamsThe film centers on a group of delinquents that refer to themselves as “drapes” and their interaction with the rest of the town and its other subculture, the “squares”, in 1950s Baltimore, Maryland. “Cry-Baby” Walker, a drape, and Allison, a square, create upheaval and turmoil in their little town of Baltimore by breaking the subculture taboos and falling in love. The film shows what the young couple have to overcome to be together and how their actions affect the rest of the town.

Here’s the official trailer of the movie from way back 1990:

Apart from the reason that I had a huge crush on Johnny Depp when I saw this movie on HBO, I loved it because I found the plot interesting. Wade Walker had a bad-boy image in the movie who wins the heart of Allison, whose boyfriend sets out for revenge. He was called “Cry-Baby” for his ability to shed a single tear; he even had a teardrop tattooed in his face, just below his left eye.

That’s right, Allison. My father was the ‘Alphabet Bomber.’ He may have been crazy, but he was my pop. Only one I ever had.

[to Mrs. Vernon-Williams] I may be a drape, but I love your granddaughter. And if that’s a crime, I’ll stand convicted, ma’am.

—Wade “Cry-Baby” Walker, Cry-Baby (1990)

Some people who’ve seen this movie may find it corny, but not the thirteen-year old version of me. I know that if I watch again, I will still gush like a teenager. I don’t know about you, but there’s something about crying men that melts my heart. :)

4 thoughts on “Shed a Single Tear

  1. Oh, Johnny~~ I haven’t watched this movie. If you’ll let me do the math, perhaps you know why. Hihihi :) Will try to scan HBO and Star Movies for this!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Yet Another Blogging Challenge « SCATTERBRAIN

HIT ME WITH YOUR BEST SHOT

