Something Borrowed, Something Blue

Before anything else, I have to warn you that I’m not good at doing reviews. I’ve never pulled off a decent once-over for the blogosphere to learn from or appreciate to say the least, so please bear with me on this one.

Today I will review three books written by Emily Giffin which I’ve recently read. Emily Giffin is a graduate of Wake Forest University and the University of Virginia School of Law. After practicing litigation at a Manhattan firm for several years, she moved to London to write full time. The author of four New York Times bestselling novels, she now lives in Atlanta with her husband and three young children.

Since all three books are co-related, belonging to the same series, let’s begin with a run-through with the main characters.

Main Characters

  • Darcy Jane Rhone — Darcy is the typical Little Miss Popular because of her physical attributes. Tall, slim, and pretty. You know the kind who will make every man turn her way as she walks into a crowded room. She may be cast as captivating, but she’s not one of those mean girls in their campus. In fact, she uses her power to protect her friends when they need it the most. All that matters to Darcy is how her spectators see her, so she invests more on her appearance than anything else. Her job as a public relations officer suits her personality best.
  • Rachel Hannah White — Rachel is Darcy’s infamous best friend. She is everything Darcy’s not. She’s a few inches short of Darcy and fuller-figured compared to her counterpart. Rachel grew up to be awkward and timid. Well, she is not entirely nerdy, but Rachel appears to be the brain of their tandem. Rachel works in a demanding law firm with an even more demanding partner, Les.
  • Dexter Thaler — Dexter and Rachel went to law school together. Rachel was quite intimidated by him when in one of their classes, Dex practically owned their professor, disproving the latter of his first impression, and eventually earning his respect. Since this outrageous encounter, Dex became famous in an instant.
  • Ethan Ainsley — Ethan is the only male best friend of Darcy, Rachel, and Annalise. Sometime in their school days, Ethan moved to where Darcy, Rachel, and Annalise were studying. He preferred to sit alone away from everyone else during their recess until the three walked right up to him one day that eventually led to Darcy hating him while Rachel adored him as their new found friend.

The Diary of Darcy Jane Rhone (Darcy & Rachel #0.5)
by Emily Giffin

Published on 12 June 2012
Ratings: ★★☆☆☆

This book is the prequel to Something Borrowed and Something Blue. It’s only a few pages long, basically introducing the main characters and their connection with each other.

Rachel gave Darcy a diary as gift to encourage her to take account of her daily activities in high school. Darcy isn’t much into this whole Dear Diary thing, but eventually got herself to write some of the highlights in her life during her teenage years. She’s written mostly shallow things like how she fantasized an exchange student and altogether stole the guy from his then girlfriend. As if it were essential, she made a summary of all the boyfriends she’s had, as well as the time she lost her virginity to someone she thought she loved.

I only gave two out of five stars for this book because I pretty much got bored with it despite its length. I know I shouldn’t expect much on an introduction as such, but thought it could have been more interesting.

Something Borrowed (Darcy & Rachel #1)
by Emily Giffin

Published on 01 June 2004
Ratings: 

Something Borrowed is the first installment to the Darcy & Rachel series. The story began as Darcy and Rachel recalls how they had prepared for anticipated for their upcoming thirtieth birthday. Darcy is lucky enough to have been engaged to Dex even before she hit the much-dreaded age, thus leaving Rachel with all the frustrations of remaining unattached at 30.

Everything seemed to be going well until on the eve of Rachel’s thirtieth birthday, the one Darcy had organized and all, something bizarre and unexpected occurred. The conflict commenced when Dex hooked up with Rachel the night of her birthday party. Darcy was stupid drunk that Dex had to take her home. Dex returned to the bar shortly after to get Darcy’s purse which she had left. Rachel and Dex spent a little more time together later that evening, both ending up in the former’s bed the next morning.

You will get over this. I think of all the hearts breaking at this moment, in Manhattan, all over the world. All of the overwhelming grief. It makes me feel less alone to think that other people are getting their insides torn to tiny bits.

—Rachel, Something Borrowed

It turned out that Dex asked the wrong person’s hand in marriage. The two went on with their affair behind Darcy’s back, who was completely oblivious to the fact that her fiancé and best friend are cheating on her. While you’re at it, another twist was revealed towards the end of the story. The golden couple eventually called their wedding off, only to find out that Darcy had also cheated on Dex and much worse, she got pregnant with another Dex’s friend, Marcus.

Songs and smells will bring you back to a moment in time more than anything else. It’s amazing how much can be conjured with a few notes of a song or a solitary whiff of a room. A song you didn’t even pay attention to at the time, a place that you didn’t even know had a particular smell.

—Rachel, Something Borrowed

I granted this book three out of five stars because although there were more than one twists in the story, I still found the next scenes kind of expected. There were times when I had anticipated on what’s going to happen next.

This book has a movie adaptation starring Kate Hudson and Ginnifer Goodwin who played Darcy and Rachel, respectively. I haven’t seen the movie, but I’ve added it to my bucket list. Anyway, did you know that the original title of this book was Rolling The Dice? Well, you’ve got to read the book (or perhaps watch the film) to find out why.

Something Blue (Darcy & Rachel #2)
by Emily Giffin

Published on 21 March 2006
Ratings: 

Something Blue kicked off with a continuation of Something Borrowed‘s ending. This time the story was written with Darcy’s point of view. It began with Darcy still freaking out with the new relationship that had developed between her now ex-fiancé and then best friend. It never occurred to her that it was even possible to happen right under her nose. Being the diva that she usually is, she tried to convince everyone that blame’s on Dex and Rachel’s  accidental misdemeanor. She manipulated the situation with her family and close friends in order to overcast the fact that she, too, was at fault.

Love and friendship. They are what make us who we are, and what can change us, if we let them.

She literally controlled everyone at the palm of her hand to the point that Marcus, the father of her unborn child, gave up and eventually left her hanging in thin air. Even her parents almost disowned her for what-they-thought inappropriate behavior, which led her to decide to go to London to take a breather.

It was Annalise who gave Darcy the idea of visiting Ethan in London just so she can take a break and contemplate on what’s happening in her life. Darcy was ecstatic to realize this great opportunity as she prepares for motherhood, so she left abruptly, thinking of living a new life in London with Ethan. Darcy had told Ethan that’s she only going to stay for a few weeks, but due to unforeseen circumstances, she eventually extended her stay there.

You can only control your own actions. Not other people’s reactions.

—Ethan, Something Blue

To be honest, I almost stopped reading the book in its first few pages for the reason that Darcy had been alarmingly annoying. I never imagined to feel that much displeasure to a particular character, but upon finishing it, I was glad I pushed through. Compared to Something Borrowed, I consider this book to be more interesting that I found myself looking forward to subsequent chapters. It came to my senses that as the story progresses, Darcy’s true color unfolds. I liked this better than the first book, thus I gave it four golden stars.

•••

There you go, guys! I’d consider this my first ever decent book review. It felt like doing a book report in high school, only no one’s going to evaluate my observations. I hope I was able to pull this one off well enough. So what do you think of my take on this whole book review thing?

13 thoughts on “Something Borrowed, Something Blue

  1. Pingback: The Year That Was: My 2012 Year-Ender « SCATTERBRAIN

  2. Pingback: When Life Hits You Hard « SCATTERBRAIN

  3. I think there is no need for me to encourage you to keep writing book reviews as Micah already handled it! Haha. Good luck and just continue doing so. I will post a couple of reviews too for those books I won and sent to me in paperback and digital versions. Hehe

    Like

  4. Pingback: Something Borrowed: The Movie Adaptation « SCATTERBRAIN

  5. Congratulations on your first book review! It is concise but packed with all the essentials that should be found in a book review, I must say! Looking forward to more of your reviews! :)

    Like

    • Micah, dear, you are such a friend! Hahaha! Thank you! I’ve been pestering Nica about trying to do one since I’ve read so much in the last week (which is so unlikely of me). I hope to do better on this in the future. Hihihi. :”>

      Like

      • Go! You’ll do great! If you are going to the path of a book reviewer, you need to read a lot of books in different genres. :) If you need anything, tell me. Haha! I might have some in my arsenal. :)

        Like

      • OMG. Could it be that this is my calling? A Professional Book Reviewer? Haha! I’m really reluctant about doing this because you know, it’s difficult to stay objective to writing a once-over something you’ve read. Am I making any sense? Hahaha!

        Like

      • Haha! Why not? It can start as a hobby and who knows? Your reader base can expand based on your reviews. Haha, with practice you’ll be able to get the hang of “objective” reviewing. That’s why I couldn’t write book reviews; too much of a bias. :)))

        Like

      • Hahaha I don’t really see myself doing this as a career. What the heck am I saying?

        That’s my problem, too! I also tend to summarize the story instead of actually reviewing it. Hahaha!

        Like

      • Haha! Yes, be wary of summarising. :)

        Most of the books review I read centred on the plot, character development, theme analysis, etc.

        So you see why I prefer not to write reviews. Haha. Too much work; but if I could do it for a living, say, reading and writing the review, it might just work, but it needs a lot of work.

        Like

      • It’s difficult! I even researched online how to make one because I’ve forgotten the things to consider in my review. Would you believe I spent hours drafting this post when I got home from work yesterday? Define effort. Hahaha!

        Thank you as ever, Micah! :D

        Like

HIT ME WITH YOUR BEST SHOT

