My Twisted Sunshine

Walking Disaster (Beautiful, #2)
by Jamie McGuire
Ratings: ★★★★

A few weeks before April, Nica tweeted about the release of the second installment from the Beautiful series by Jamie McGuire. The first book, Beautiful Disaster, was a sure hit (at least for me), hence when I learned that the second book will be released soon, I really got excited!

You know what they say, that there are always two sides to a story, and Walking Disaster was written in Travis Maddox’s point of view. I know I loved Beautiful Disaster with Abby Abernathy narrating her and Travis Maddox’s messed-up relationship, but reading through Travis’ point of view allowed me to understand how men think.

Who among you here has never wondered what’s in her man’s mind? I bet you, there’s none. Most of us, regardless of what kind of relationship we are in, tend to try to decipher what could be going on in a man’s head. I know women are more difficult to understand by nature, but that doesn’t make men an exception, right? No, I’m not trying to sound sexist here, but my argument is valid, one way or another.

The story was written almost exactly as in the first book, but there were several scenes that were not further discussed in Beautiful Disaster like those conversations involving Travis and his family. For some, it could be a bore because you somehow knew what to expect next (when you’ve read the first book), but trying to grasp the situation in Travis’ shoes made the difference. 

I don’t know how to justify this, but I think I understood Travis more than even after reading Walking Disaster. It all boils down to a son’s promise to his dying mother to be the best person he can be, and to fight for something he truly wants. Travis’ ways may be screwed up in so many levels, but you just do the craziest of things when you’re in love, don’t you?

***

I have mentioned in my previous post how I find Miggy and Travis alike. Reading through Travis’ words somehow made me understand what he thinks when I’m in a certain situation similar to what Abby’s. Miggy may not be deranged as Travis, but this book reminds me so much of him. How protective he can get when it comes to the people who matter to him. With that being said, I think I might read this series again in the future.

3 thoughts on “My Twisted Sunshine

  1. Pingback: Book Review: Walking Disaster by Jamie McGuire | Sharon's Book Nook!

  2. Wee! This might sound weird coming from someone who is a partial feminist, but men’s POV are more romantic!

    Like

HIT ME WITH YOUR BEST SHOT

