Finding That Silver Lining

This isn’t a typical blog post, but I needed a medium to convey all that is going on in my head right now (read: distressing) before I completely lose it. Allow me to enumerate them in no particular order:

  • It’s been a week since the car accident. My father decided that we have the car scheduled for repair next week in time for its performance maintenance. The total body repair costs about Php 20,000++ (US$450++); however, during our last meeting, the person responsible for the body repair expenses can only commit to staggered payment scheme. According to him, he can only pledge at least Php 5,000 (US$110++) every payday; meaning to say, he will only complete paying off his obligation in two months. My father agreed to this albeit hesitant since we cannot really force him to pay in full if he is not capable to do so. We had him sign a an agreement based on his terms.

This morning, I sent that person an SMS to give him heads-up on this regard as well as reminding of his commitment. He is supposed to turnover the first of four installments this coming Saturday, but he continues to be elusive. What’s really getting into my nerves is the fact that I am compelled to shoulder the full expenses on his behalf because it is impossible to pay the service center on an installment basis (without having to use a credit card).

  • The above-mentioned would result to an adjustment of work schedule on my part. I go to work on a 6:00AM to 2:00PM shift everyday, but I have to adjust my schedule  (indefinitely) to match that of my brother’s (graveyard shift) so we’ll go to and from work together by public transportation.

Can you imagine the trouble we are about to get from something that is not entirely my fault? This is inconvenience at its finest.

  • My husband has filed my petition packet (I-130) last week, but we haven’t received any updates on that yet. Oftentimes when at work, I would read topics with relevance to this kind of application, and I can’t help but feel discouraged about the possible 13 months waiting time as against the 5-month target by the US government. I was hoping I’d get to move in with my husband within this year, but chances seem so slim after reading through a handful of articles on this regard. His being in the US military service may help expedite the processing of my application, but we have no evidence to prove such claim yet. Just the thought of spending our first wedding anniversary apart is depressing on its own.

The cloud seems so dark, I find it difficult to see the silver lining in all these.

10 thoughts on “Finding That Silver Lining

  1. Hey, I’m sorry about the I-130. The INS is notoriously slow but sometimes, that agency can surprise you. It could be as long as the projected 13 months or it could be as few as three. Hang in there. It can be so frustrating but it will be worth it in the end : ) You’ll be in sunny, breezy Cali eventually and you’ll be with your hubby.

    Like

    • Thank you, KP. I just find it hard to wrap my head around things lately, and I think my petition papers are on top of my list. I somehow regret that time when my husband (then fiancé) offered to get married in court before the church wedding in order to have my papers processed right away.

      I beat myself up on that [sort of] wrong decision to this day.

      Like

      • I’m still in the process of waiting for my green card (i.e. change in status) through employment, and the only reason that I know as much about the INS is from experience with it. It’s cliche to say so but the only way you cold have known about the INS’s molasses-slow style is from experiencing it first-hand, so as much as you can, just use this in-between time to soak up as much as you can of the Philippines. i can only imagine the angst you’re experiencing. I was away from my bf for only 10 weeks this summer and I missed him. When I felt down about the INS, the thought that kept me calm (enough) was that, as annoying as it was, I felt lucky that I could go through the process in the first place. It really is worth it :)

        Like

      • Isn’t it frustrating? I guess the only silver lining I look forward to is the Veterans Affairs advice that my husband may have my application expedited since he’s in the military service. However, as I have mentioned in my post, we wouldn’t believe this until it actually materialize.

        Ah, it’s been really tough here in the Philippines, thus my inexplicable desire to leave immediately. Add to that the trouble of changing my name and civil status to being married. Oh, you know how it is here! Hay.

        Like

      • P.S. I really appreciate your thoughts and kind words, KP. Please don’t let my frustrations affect you in any way. I hope you enjoy the rest of your day! :)

        Like

  2. I’m sorry you’re going through all of this! Just another bump on the road though. Keep being positive and hopefully things work out soon enough in your favor! Just keep thinking about how happy you will be once you finally see your husband.

    Internet hug :)

    Like

HIT ME WITH YOUR BEST SHOT

